Mended

My angel fell – again.

Just as I pulled my journal out
the one that says
dream  believe  discover

the other writing books, mine
the daisy journal, advent reflections,
little girl lost, a horse story
slanted, off balance

they hit her and as she
fell the top of her
remaining wing
broke off flying across
the room, my room

It didn’t seem fair.

I cried.

Several days later
I made a decision.
I moved her. To my jewelry box.
I searched for
and found
the broken tip

both wings now
broken
yet still
she holds the
book
her writing, her story
firmly in her
hands.

Nothing has been lost. Only found.

DSC_9131

“Would you pick me up some glue?”

I put her back
together.

It was hard
the broken pieces
were so heavy
and though the
glue was super
I had to
lay her down,
put her to
sleep.

She awoke,
mended
her visible
scars, a sign
of what
she learned
about failure
and the hope
it
brings.

DSC_9158

DSC_9180

DSC_9185

DSC_9186

4 comments on “Mended

  1. Joe Bradshaw says:

    Beautiful… sentiment and pictures. Thank you for sharing them. 🙂 Joe

  2. Lisa Iversen says:

    Danese – Your post is poignant and beautiful. I understand deeply, the fears you face. Your openness to disclose your vulnerability showcases your inner strength! Follow the lightness of your heart. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

