Drop Forge

Drop forging is a process by which steel is super-heated, deformed, hammered, and reformed.

The result: A tool that is stronger and more durable-

A chain, a hook, that can hold many times its own weight.

DSC_8735

Drop Forged

The beads of sweat
on my brow
are silver
dripping as
I melt now
becoming a puddle
from the solid
person I once
thought
I was.

I am formless and void

The ram it
looms above
and I
in stasis
super-heated liquid
await its shape
the die overhead
underneath
my new molds
absorbing completely
my loose
and flowing
volume

I fill every space

pressed and hammered
temporarily confined
only until  I
cool, removed
from the mold
in the shape I
choose, the one I
know
is true

I am

stronger
more durable

resilient
a tool
that can hold
many times
its own weight
but is content, now
to simply hold
its own.

2 comments on “Drop Forge

  1. Phyllis says:

    Lovely!

Leave a Reply

