The Thirty-Third Day. Claiming JOY.

The last seven days of this journey I will be receiving joy, claiming it as my own.

About two weeks ago I lost the only pair of glasses I had. When it happened it reminded me of a favorite poem by Edward Taylor, a puritan minister who died in 1729. His poems are beautiful. What speaks so deeply to me from his work is his obvious passion and love for God.

Not having glasses this verse became especially appropriate.

“Am I new minted by thy Stamp indeed?

Mine eyes are dim; I cannot clearly see.

Be thou my Spectacles that I may read

Thine image and Inscription stampt on me.

If thy bright Image do upon me stand,

I am a Golden Angel in thy hand.”

I had an eye exam and ordered new glasses today. I managed to get by with reading glasses, but it is definitely not the same as proper “spectacles.” I look forward to being able to see more clearly than I have in a long time.

In more ways than physically.

Doing some cleaning out of old papers and photos, I came across this.

“To go in the dark with a light is to know light. To know the dark, go dark. Go without sight, and find that the dark, too, blooms and sings, and is traveled by dark feet and dark wings.” -Wendell Berry

I hear the music. I smell the blossoms. I feel the joy.

Yes, it is all here in the dark.

My photo for today was not shot by me. In fact I don’t recall who took it way back in 1980. But the joy on my face is visible.

And, of course, there it is… a camera in my hands.

sc137730b3

There is no need to fear the darkness. It is merely an opening to the brilliant light that exists within us, waiting to be shared with the world.

JOY.

6 comments on “The Thirty-Third Day. Claiming JOY.

  1. andy1076 says:

    Poems following along with happenings in every day life, It all comes together huh? 🙂

  2. Receive the joy and revel in it. I buy my reading glasses at Wal Mart, three pairs for $9.

Leave a Reply

