The Fourteenth Day. Adrian. Again.

I bought my bear many years ago during a trip I took with my Sistie to Gettysburg. On route we stopped at Boyd’s Bear Country, which I just learned, sadly, closed in 2011. That is where I found and purchased my bear.

Since then he has sat on my bed with his back to the pillows, or been tossed to the floor beside my bed while I was sleeping.

Valley Forge was his first trip, ever.

As I began my hike with him I realized I had never given him a name. Sad but true. Sure, I could continue to call him “Teddy,” but that was now too generic, not appropriate for my friend. Shortly into our walk, as I was climbing the heavily wooded trail, the name came to me. When it did, it just felt right.

It was Adrian. It is Adrian. The name was there all along, I just hadn’t looked for it before. Giving him that name brought my heart a special sense of joy.

Later when I looked the meaning of the name up, I wasn’t surprised to see that those with this name are imaginative, intuitive, and spiritual.

When I took the self portraits in the rock on The Eleventh Day, I had no inkling I would return and take portraits of Adrian in the same spot the following day. Yet when I posted my series of Adrian photos yesterday, I didn’t include this one.

That is because it is supposed to stand alone as part of my journey today, as part of Adrian’s journey too. My imaginative, intuitive, spiritual bear.

DSC_6339

Light and shadow and dark

woven together

parts of a whole

necessary catalysts

to see the way

out.

Leave a Reply

