Vulnerability- An Opening

The post I just reblogged, “Electric Bodies” (http://introspectionsduringquiettime.wordpress.com) began a chain reaction of internal openings for me today. After reading Chris’s writing, this quote crossed my path:

“Vulnerability is the only authentic state. Being vulnerable means being open, for wounding, but also for pleasure. Being open to the wounds of life means also being open to the bounty and beauty. Don’t mask or deny your vulnerability: it is your greatest asset. Be vulnerable: quake and shake in your boots with it. the new goodness that is coming to you, in the form of people, situations, and things can only come to you when you are vulnerable, i.e. open.”

~ Stephen Russell ~

When I did a google search for the word vulnerable, I happened upon this wonderful video:

I feel fortunate to have learned so much today through the words and stories of others. I’m more than ready to take my mask(s) off… whatever that means. What about you? Does the thought of being vulnerable make you afraid? I admit it does me, but I hope to find the courage to be just that. Prior experience has taught me it is a risk worth taking.

Any times in your life when being vulnerable paid off?

2 comments on “Vulnerability- An Opening

  1. dcardiff says:

    When I am with homeless, or street people, I see their vulnerability. There is nothing they can pretend, that they don’t feel and show. When I am with them I, also, am vulnerable. If I were to wear any kind of mask it would be noticed immediately by these observers of human nature.

    Being vulnerable is an asset. I can empathize, even if I can’t help. I have learned to cry. I have felt deep sorrow and elation. I know I am alive. ~ Dennis

    • Dennis,
      I deeply admire your shared vulnerability with the people you meet on the streets. Your work and the stories on your blog remind me that living an open and vulnerable life is living well. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

